31 December 2016

Kerala Legislative Assembly 7.8.2013

The Kerala Legislative Assembly, also known as the Niyamasabha is the law making body of Kerala. The Assembly has 140 elected representatives and one nominated member from the Anglo-Indian community.
The history of the Kerala Legislature dates back to 1888, when the Maharaja ofTravancore, established a Council for the purpose for making laws & regulations. The inaugural meeting of the Council was held on 23rd August, 1888.
The Kerala Legislature had three parallel courses of development in the three regions ofTravancore, Cochin and Malabar until they were merged together on 1st November, 1956 to form the State of Kerala. The first Legislative Assembly of Kerala with a strength of 127 including 10 nominated members was constituted in 1957.

No comments:

Post a Comment