11 October 2016

Indian Mathematical Society (IMS) 27.12.2009

The Indian Mathematical Society (IMSis the oldest scientific society in India founded on 4th April 1907 by Shri V. Ramaswamy Aiyar, the Deputy Collector in the services of the then Madras Province with twenty members with itsHeadquarters at Pune. The society was then known as ‘Analytic Club‘ and later changed to ‘Indian Mathemtical Club‘. In 1910, a new reused constitution was adopted and the club acquired its present name, “The Indian Mathematical Society“, Today, the IMS is the oldest and the largest mathematical society of IndiaProfessor B. Hanumantha Raowas the first President of the Society from 1907-1912.

No comments:

Post a Comment