23 September 2016

Metro Heritage Stations of India 16.8.2009

The four Metro Heritage Stations of India stand as sentinels of history and progress. The Department of Posts is happy to issue a set offour commemorative stamps on Heritage Railway Stations of India. Also, the four Metro Stations  Kolkata, Mumbai, Chennai and Delhi were monumental in scale, striking architectural creations of the 19thcentury, innovatively designed and incorporated local traditions and craftsmanship. They became a focal point of each city. With the coming of the Railways, there came up railway stations, Railway companies vied with each other to build imposing railway station buildings.

No comments:

Post a Comment