20 May 2016

150 Years of India Post 4.10.2004

President A P J Abdul Kalam inaugurated the year-long celebrations of India Post on completion of its 150th year in service.
The event was marked by the release of a set of four commemorative stamps in the denomination of Rs 5 each and also release of a commemorative coin by the Prime Minister Manmohan Singh.
The postal services in India commenced with a skeletal network of 701 post offices under the control of a Director General on October 1, 1854. Today, the postal network has 1,55,000 outlets in the country which is the largest in the world.
The British Postal system in India was established by Lord Clive in 1776 which was further developed by Warren Hastings who established the Calcutta GPO in 1774 followed by Madras GPO in 1786 and the Bombay GPO in 1793.
The Post Office Act of 1854 reformed the earlier postal system providing total monopoly to the Government for the management of post Offices and the exclusive privilege for conveyance of letters whereas the 1837 Act united the Post Office organisations in all the three presidencies into one All India Service.

No comments:

Post a Comment