13 July 2015


INDO-SOVIET JOINT MANNED SPACE FLIGHT. The Indo-Soviet Joint Manned Space Flight launching the first Indian into space takes place from 3rd April, 1984 to 11th April, 1984. This mission is the outcome of the agreement signed between the Government of India and USSR for the participation of an Indian Cosmonaut in the joint manned space flight to be launched by USSR in April 1984. Sqn. Ldr. Rakesh Sharma, an outstanding test pilot of the Indian Air Force, will become the first Indian to go into space when he alongwith two other Soviet cosmonauts orbits the earth for eight days during the Joint Indo-Soviet Manned Space Flight. Squadron Leader Rakesh Sharma and Wing Commander Ravish Malhotra were the two Indian Air Force officers selected through a rigorous process of selection for training at Yuri Gagarian Centre, both have qualified to make the space flight. Two sets of crew have been formed, of which one will be the main crew who will actually participate in the space flight and the other will be standing by. The main crew for the mission is Col Yuri Malyshev- pilot cosmonaut and Commander, Squadron Leader Rakesh Sharma- Researcher Cosmonaut and Mr. Gennady Sterkalov- Engineer Cosmonaut.

The stamp depicts the Soviet SALYUT-7 space station with SOYUZ space ships docked on either side of SALYUT-7. The first day cover symbolically depicts the Sun Chariot and the flags of India and the USSR.

No comments:

Post a Comment